Hon. Francis Okiye has been removed as the Speaker of the Edo State House of Assembly.

The impeachment moves followed a motion by the House Leader, Hon. Henry Okhuarobo, representing Ikpoba-Okha constituency and was seconded by the member representing Akoko Edo I constituency, Hon. Yekini Idaiye.

Hon. Ephraim Alusbhosele from Igueben constituency, then, moved a motion to nominate, Hon. Marcus Onobun from Esan West constituency as the new Speaker and the member representing Akoko Edo II constituency, Hon. Emmanuel Agbaje.

Following the impeachment, the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Roland Asoro who presided over the Plenary, subjected the motion to a voice vote and the members unanimously elected marcus Onobun as the new Speaker.

The new Speaker who consequently dissolved all the standing committees of the House, thanked members for electing him as the new Speaker.

While placing Hon. Okiye on three months Suspension, the new Speaker constituted a three-man committee to investigate the financial records of the House under Hon. Okiye’s leadership.